Murtoa Progress Association Home Page back a page
Murtoa Progress Association
Murtoa Victoria Australia
Advertiser Art Barrabool Cemetery Concordia Grain Corp Karrajong Ave Lake Marma Mechanical Hall Rabl Park Railway Station Silo Trail The Stick Shed Sumpiolers Water Tower

The Murtoa Museum Precinct

The Murtoa Water Tower Museum

Historic Precinct entry tickets
Address: 1 Comyn St
Murtoa VIC 3390, Australia
+61 429 944 673
+61 437 920 734

Under 16:

Monday to Saturday 12 - 2 pm
Sunday 12 - 4 pm.
0429 944 673
Email Peter Adler

includes Heritage Listed
Railway Water Tower (1886)
Murtoa Railway Station (1886)
Concordia Cottage (1892)
Avenue trees


Victorian Collections.
Murtoa and district historical society
Explore the impressive 4-storey, 13-metre high Water Tower Museum
Houses the unique James Hill Taxidermy Collection with over 500 birds and other fauna, as well as historic artefacts, memorabilia and household and farming tools from 1890’s, the era of the town’s most significant growth.

Climb up the spiral staircase to the top floor, which reveals the underbelly of the 40,000 gallon wrought iron tank that used to store water for steam locomotives.
A range of delicious, homemade Water Tower Preserves are available at the Water Tower Museum shop.

The Murtoa Historic Precinct entry tickets, Murtoa Heritage Trails self guided walking tour brochures and Admission $9 Adult (Eftpos available). Children under 16 free OPENING HOURS: Daily 12pm – 2pm & any other times by appointment Please note that opening hours of this venue may be impacted by Victorian government COVID-19 restrictions If you are lucky, you may be able to watch and count carriages of a typical grain train as it passes through the Murtoa Railway Station on its way to a port at 110kms per hour!
The interstate rail line The Overland, which runs between Adelaide and Melbourne, also passes through Murtoa.
The town is hoping to make Murtoa an additional service stop on this iconic train journey.

Walk across the road to the recently refurbished Railway Station which presents history of railway transport in Murtoa, its significance for the town’s boom and the demise of passenger travel.
Relics of the historical bakery and saddlery are on show in The Goods Shed.

Next door, is Concordia Cottage, original classroom from Murtoa’s first Concordia Lutheran Seminary.
The cottage houses displays of period clothing, an antique organ, the Murtoa Telecom manual switchboard, stories of local heroes and more.
Standing out prominently at the end of Comyn St is the Water Tower Museum.
This four-storey, thirteen-metre high water storage tower for the supply to steam engines, was built in 1886 by the Victorian railways.
Large museum, history centre, for the supply of steam engines. Houses a remarkable collection of 500 birds and animals from the taxidermy collection of James Hill.
He collected the animals from 1885-1930.
There is also a collection of some objects are also held in the adjacent historic Concordia College building
A unique taxidermy collection of 500 birds dating back over a hundred years. Also on display are cuttings, photographs and artefacts relating to the history of the region and the local German, Irish and English farming communities.
local Aboriginal artefacts. and video presentations.

Other times by appointment.
Check the door for the relevant phone numbers of people who will open the museum for inspection. Murtoa Old Water Tower 1 Hamilton Street, Murtoa, Victoria 3390 Creator: Railways Dept. Description: Built in 1886 to supply the town and railway department with water, the tower is built of brick and stands 50ft high. It held 40,000 gallons of water. A pipe runs up from the ground to the centre of the bottom of the tank, which is dished like a saucer. Hugh Rogers was the pump operator from 1886 - 1912, and he and his family lived in the tower. Date: 1886 Murtoa Facilities: Car and bus parking, picnic area, sales outlet, information brochures, guided tours (meals and accommodation available opposite at railway hotel). Collection: The museum holds a unique taxidermy collection of birds, eggs and mammals which is over one hundred years old; local community archives including family, schools, churches, organisations and transport records and photos; blacksmithing and farming hand tools, household implements and toys. Water Tower Museum is housed in an old four-storey, thirteen-metre water storage tower built in 1886 by the railways for the supply of steam engines. Some objects are also held in the adjacent historic Concordia College building. The museum holds a unique taxidermy collection of 500 birds dating back over a hundred years. Also on display are cuttings, photographs and artefacts relating to the history of the region and the local German, Irish and English farming communities. Taxidermy Collection James Hill Taxidermy Collection Creator: James Hill Description: Over 100 years ago, James Hill collected ornithological specimens from the USA, New Guinea, Africa, and Australia. His collection is recognised as one of the best in the world. It contains large birds such as eagles, pelicans, emus and Blyth's Hornbills and ranges to the smallest birds as well as waterbirds, garden birds, birds of prey, stubble birds, colourful and camouflaged birds, etc. Date: 1875 - 1925 Murtoa, Australia, USA, Africa, New Guinea Centenary of Railway Water TowerPrint Page Print this page 27-November-2014 27-November-2014 27-November-201427-November-2014 A plaque commemorates the centenary of the Murtoa Railway Water Tower. The former Railway Water Tower was constructed in 1885 for the Victorian Railways; it was constructed by the Geelong firm of Humble and Nicholson. The face-brick tower is 13 metres high with a riveted wrought-iron tank at the top. Each level of the tower is marked with a string mould and the tank itself has a cornice-like rim and a basalt coping base. Each level of the tower has arched windows and, aligned with the entry door, segmented arched openings for loading. The tower is now used as a museum by the Murtoa and District Historical Society.